SESCAL 2017 Committee

solar spectrum

About the FPCSC and SESCAL

Before presenting the Committee, we are often asked, "What does SESCAL stand for?" Simply, SESCAL is the annual Stamp Exhibition of Southern CALifornia sponsored by the Federated Philatelic Clubs of Southern California. Founded in the mid-1940s, this is the 70th year for this exhibition. Originally, SESCAL was held at various locations near downtown Los Angeles, including the Elk's Club. From 1959 to 1976 the show was held in what was first a Statler Hotel and then became a Hilton Hotel. In 1977 we moved out to the Wilshire District and the world-famous Ambassador Hotel. In 1988 the show moved to the closest hotel to Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) where it was held for 22 years. Originally the Hyatt at LAX, later operated by Wyndham, this hotel was completely refurbished and now carries the Radisson name. In 2010, we moved back to a Hilton property, the luxurious Hilton Los Angeles Airport Hotel, about 3/4 mile from the airport. In 2017, we will move to the Ontario Convention Center. We look forward with excitement to many years at this fifth venue in 72 years of SESCAL.

solar spectrum

SESCAL 2016 Committee

We are pleased to introduce the collectors and non-collectors who are responsible for putting this year's SESCAL together. Some of these people have been working with this exhibition for over 40 years, others are new to the Committee in the past few years, and all have been involved with SESCAL in various ways for many years. It is their knowledge and labor that helps put the show together each year. Most of these people have e-mail and a link is given for them. In addition, the year that each person first served on the SESCAL Committee is given. Below the list are photos of many of the committee members. As other photos are acquired, they will be added here.

Position Name First Year
General Chairman John Weigle 2017
Past General Chairman Wallace Craig 1992
Dealer Bourse Chairman Fred Gregory 2013
Security Chairman Brian Metz 2009
Philatelic Exhibits Chairman Howard Green 1993
Frame Guru Steven Radell 2008
Publicity Chairman Bill Miller 2009
Awards Chair Dawn Goss 2016
Show Program Chair John Weigle 2002
Secretary to the Philatelic Judges Lois M. Evans-de Violini 2001
Banquet Chair Betty Green 2003
Financial Chair Lois M. Evans-de Violini 2001
Cachet Coordinator Michael Litvak 2009
Admissions Chair Jerry & Gerry Winerman 1998
Youth Activities Chairman Bill Janson 2007
Society & Meeting Coordinator Ed Kawasaki 2007
FPCSC Newsletter Editor John Weigle 1995
Carl Shaff II
Immediate past General Chairman
SESCAL Chairman
Wallace Craig
Past Chairman
Past SESCAL Chairman
Fred Gregory
Dealer Bourse
Dealer Bourse Chairman
Lois Evans-de Violini
Financial & Jury
Financial Chair & Secretary to Judges
Howard Green
Philatelic Exhibits Chairman
Betty Green
Banquet Chairman
Gerry Winerman
Admissions Chair
Jerry Winerman
Admissions Chair
Dawn Goss
"No Photo Available"
John Weigle
General Chairman, Program & Newsletter
FPCSC Newsletter Editor and Show Program Chair
Steven Radell
Frame Manager
Bill Janson
Youth Activities Chairman
Michael Litvak
Cachet Coordinator
Bill Miller
Publicity Chairman
Ed Kawasaki
Meetings & Societies
Society & Meeting Coodinator
solar spectrum

If you would like to help with any of these positions, please send an e-mail to the person
handling that task, or to John Weigle , and let them know. They'd like to hear from you.

solar spectrum
Last updated -- Jan. 24, 2017
Copyright © 1999-2016,  FPCSC